Hero Animation
Hero Image

988 launches in Canada! Distress Centre is a 988 partner 

988 launches in Canada! Distress Centre is a 988 partner 

The 9-8-8 Suicide Crisis Helpline has launched as of November 30th, 2023. 9-8-8 is a new national three-digit helpline that provides urgent, live support by phone and text for anyone who is thinking about suicide, or who is worried about someone they know.    

Distress Centre Calgary is a 9-8-8 partner and part of the network of crisis lines across the country whose responders take 9-8-8 calls and texts.  

“A three-digit number is easier to remember, quicker to dial and creates one entry point to receiving help,” said Robyn Romano, CEO at Distress Centre Calgary. “This is a historic achievement for Canada that will increase access for those seeking help and decrease the stigma that still surrounds the topic of suicide.” 

Learn more about 988 here.  

Distress Centre has been involved with the efforts to offer a national suicide prevention service since the Canadian Distress Line Network (CDLN) formed in 2002. Crisis Services Canada evolved out of the CDLN and launched the Canada Suicide Prevention Service in 2017. Distress Centre was one of the first four pilot sites when that service launched in 2017 and continued being a partner and answering contacts when it became Talk Suicide in 2022. 

Now we are proud to be a 9-8-8 partner.

Our local crisis lines remain available for anyone requiring crisis and emotional support, including needing support for thoughts of suicide. We can be reached 24 hours a day by phoning or texting 403-266-HELP (403-266-4357) or chatting online at DistressCentre.com

Whether someone contacts 9-8-8 or our local lines, they will receive support.     

211 also remains available for information and navigation support, including help connecting to mental health and addictions resources. 

In the spirit of respect, reciprocity and truth, Distress Centre Calgary would like to honour and acknowledge Moh’kinsstis, and the traditional Treaty 7 territory and oral practices of the Blackfoot confederacy: Siksika, Kainai, Piikani, as well as the Îyâxe Nakoda and Tsuut’ina nations. We acknowledge that this territory is home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3 within the historical Northwest Métis homeland. Finally, we acknowledge all Nations – Indigenous and non – who live, work and play on this land, and who honour and celebrate this territory.